In The Land Of Blood & Poppies 

romania-vintage-road-map-regele-carol-ii-oradea-brasov-1938-2-300560-p

If I were to write a memoir, it would read like a dark Eastern European folk-tale. From the endless travels through faraway lands, a childhood spent playing among ancient Byzantine ruins with a best friend named Snow White, and days spent in Bucharest watching gypsies with glittering gold teeth play the accordion for their dancing bear (or sometimes monkey! ) – at times I forget how magical yet utterly absurd my life has been up to this point.

bloodpoppies3
Needless to say, I am rarely at a loss for inspiration. I adore revisiting these memories and trying to find creative ways to interpret them into my everyday style in a way that is whimsical, but not too costume-y. My native language is the world of textiles. I have a deep passion for textiles, especially folk textiles – I cherish those who try so hard to keep these ancient traditions alive. At times it is difficult to create a living, breathing memory with mere words – this is why I so adore having something that I can touch.
As the Autumn darkens, I find myself feeling positively Draculian. I am obsessed with all red everything, from wine to nail lacquer. This time of the year makes me long for those moody trips through Transylvania and glittering Winter nights in Bucharest. I remember the old grey buildings still marred by bullet holes, a somber souvenir leftover from the revolution that gunned Ceaușescu down. In spite of the grim history and overwhelming poverty, I have fond memories of Romania. My father used to treat us to dinners of salty, stringy deep-fried cheese, hand delivered by the peasants from the surrounding villages, eaten in a dimly lit bar that smelled strongly of rich tobacco. I remember driving through endless fields of bright orange-red poppies (which were harvested for opium),  and I remember my first encounter with beggar children. Romania is where, at a tender age of 5 years old, I first realized what poverty was. A sobering subject for someone so young. In a way, I strive to commemorate my life experiences through my style – storytelling isn’t simply a string of words, after all.
Here are a few things that are on my Autumn wishlist!

Russian Shawl Inspired Corset by Corsetry & Romance

bloodpoppies1

The Velvet Vamp Corset by What Katie Did

velvet-vamp-steel-boned-waist-training-corset-ct_2_large

Blood Red Lipstick by Besame Cosmetics

bloodredforweb4_grande

1920’s Metallic Embroidered Silk Peasant Blouse from Wear It Again Sam Vintage

peasantblouse1

How do you express yourself through style? What do you have to say? A conscious choice in wardrobe can reveal a deeper meaning – if your wardrobe doesn’t make you feel completely true to yourself, something needs to change. Life is too short for boring, well, anything.

The Comrade General

Leave a Reply

