1984.

Greetings comrades.

2017 is off to a pretty rough start here in The United States of Anxiety. The gravitas of the political situation here has definitely sunk in, and no amount of vodka and cigarettes can make things better. If there is a silver lining, it would definitely be the fact that it is in times like these that true art is created. Conflict breeds inspiration. I half wish that I could pull an Ian Fleming – you know, fly off to some exotic locale for a writer’s vacation. I’ve been working on a book which is very dear to my heart – an autobiography of sorts detailing real life events of my childhood in Eastern Europe and the various characters that I met along the way. I’ve been hesitating on making the contents public due to a fear of backlash, as the book will deal with extremely controversial subjects (especially in the eyes of the Eastern Orthodox world). I suppose this is why I’ve been absent for so long. 

On a lighter note, here are some of my favorite things in 2017:

Korres Greek Yoghurt Smoothie Priming Moisturizer

s1901602-main-lhero

When it comes to skin care, I like to keep things relatively low key. I like products that are quick, easy, and multi-purpose. I wouldn’t say that I’m lazy, per se…I would just much rather spend time meticulously applying my signature blood red lipstick then spend time applying fifty layers of moisturizer, primer, foundation, concealer, powder, blush, and highlighter. This is exactly what was missing in my morning routine. This stuff feels so clean and refreshing when you put it on, it leaves your skin feeling like silk, and I’ve definitely noticed that my makeup lasts longer throughout the day. I have fairly even combination skin, and this does a phenomenal job at keeping my face soft and matte. I am not a big fan of the scent, it smells kind of like an old lady perfume – I hope that Korres reformulates a version with no scent. I really love the fact that the ingredients are 94.7 % natural, it contains Greek yoghurt proteins, three different types of hyaluronic acids, and is formulated sans the common chemicals used in mainstream skincare. I also love that I can buy this and know that I am supporting a cruelty-free company. I love this moisturizer so much that I would go so far as to say that it is one of my holy grails.

NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint SPF30 in Finland

16388397_10154501505531715_6961131374398672357_n

After years of being in a monogamous relationship with Makeup Forever Mat Velvet foundation, I decided that it was time to switch things up.  While I will not be giving up the matte look anytime soon, I wanted to try something that would allow my natural skin texture to show through a little bit more. I really like the idea of Glossier’s Skin Tint, but I still don’t think I am ready to go quite that bare. Lately I’ve been really into NARS products – I love the no frills, sleek black rubber packaging – it really goes with my whole spy girl vibe đŸ˜‰ NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint is a dream. Silky smooth, sheer but buildable velvety coverage and SPF 30? Sign me up. Unlike a lot of foundations, this still looks natural at the end of the day – it doesn’t sink into your pores or look cakey. Once again, a product that is just as no nonsense and I am. You also get a LOT of product for your money. Definitely holy grail material!

1940’s Wool Spy Coat

16298787_10154497886496715_6122620891799965700_n

This is my official uniform for 2017 đŸ˜‰ Forget sweatpants – give me a cozy coat and a pair of leather boots and I am good to go! I love anything that allows me to live out my Cold War spy fantasy – and the somber grey hue is particularly poignant considering the times we are living in. Viva la resistance! Until next time comrades…

16195539_10154777452382279_8227158704824017805_n

The Comrade General

Leave a Reply

